The Art of the Presentation

My presentations are bad. Very bad.

And here’s why:

  1. I like to improvise.
  2. I don’t stick to a clear, simple story.
  3. I get bogged down by details. When I know too much about something, it’s hard to stay at the 30,000 foot overview
  4. I’m bad at telling jokes or anecdotes.

Any one of those four flaws could turn a great presentation into a dud. Sadly, all four together becomes the perfect storm of tedium.

What can be done to improve? Here are some tips I’ve picked up from working with one of the best professional speakers in the country:

    • Practice always. Every conversation – even with a friend or ordering a hamburger – is a presentation. Live the role.
    • Develop a repertoire of anecdotes that can be pulled out as appropriate.
    • Tailor the material to the audience – understand and focus on their interests

      Finally,

      • More often than not, visuals are distracting

      Note the supporting materials for Bill Gates vs. Steve Jobs (courtesy of Presentation Zen). See if you can spot the difference.

      Steve Jobs Presentation

      Steve Jobs

      Bill Gates Presentation

      Bill Gates

      Which audience would you prefer to be in?

      Comments are closed.